Curb Number Painting

Today I came home to find a flyer taped to the front window of the house, offering a curb number painting service (“Community Address Painting Service”). At first I though this was a second chance to get our number repainted properly, since last time they flaked out and failed to come down our street. But a couple of things made me question the validity of this flyer. This all occurred after I had written a check for $15 and taped it to the front window. To assuage my suspicions, I decided to search the web for answers (but of course, where else would one look?).

Google had one hit for the exact phrase “Community Address Painting Service”, and it was the public works commision meeting minutes for West Lafayette, IN from 1997. Apparently an enterprising person wanted to offer this service to the city, and the police chief made a couple of remarks. He pointed out that the flyer should have an address and phone number for the service. The reason being that he heard from police chiefs in other cities that similar flyers went up and the next day the checks were collected, but no curbs were painted.

This reminded me of the last time a similar flyer appeared, about two years ago. It was actually a letter from the home owners association, saying that they had commissioned a team to repaint the old curb numbers. If we wanted to participate, we just tape a paper in our window with the house number on it, then later they would send us a bill. I put up the paper, but they didn’t paint our curb (or anyone else’s along our street). Oh well, nothing lost, nothing gained.

So, given that this flyer today lacks both an address and a phone number, I have taken it down and torn up the check. Now we’ll see if anyone else falls for it, and whether or not their curbs are painted.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Curb Number Painting

  1. Anonymous says:

    My husband and I paint curbs, we dont list our address but do list a phone number on our fliers. It seems many people use the “curb paiting” scam, but please be aware there are many GOOD people who do it as well. Also we dont accept checks, we wouldnt feel right with all the customers personal info. Our advice to you is pay cash NEVER a check! Have a great day!

  2. Anonymous says:

    We were scammed by exactly this company – Community Address. Please don’t use them. They collected cash or a check upfront and then kept painting on a 12-month cycle we didn’t agree to, finally threatening our credit record when we refused to pay for a service we hadn’t requested. When we tried to work it out a man I think is the owner – Dave Kyle – hung up on us multiple times and told us we must have been mentally ill to think they ever would have charged in advance – I feel much better now that I see they’ve done this to other people. Don’t use them!

  3. MR LEGIT says:

    I HAVE BEEN PAINTING ADDRESS NUMBERS ON CURBS FOR 20 YEARS SINCE I WAS IN COLLEGE. WE USED TO KNOCK ON DOORS TO ESTABLISH THE CUSTOMER BASE WE NOW HAVE. EVENTUALLY WE USED A FLYER FROM AN ENTREPRENEUR MAGAZINE. COMMUNITY ADDRESS SERVICE WAS ONE OF OUR NAMES AT ONE TIME BUT OTHER PEOPLE COPIED OUR FLYER AND BEGAN USING IT SO WE HAD TO CHANGE OUR NAME. IN THE EVENT OF LARGE RESPONSE OR WEATHER DELAYS WE LEAVE A RECEIPT WITH OUR NUMBER ON IT WHEN WE COLLECT MONEY LEFT IN ADVANCE. BLAMING ALL CURB PAINTERS IS LIKE BLAMING ALL LANDSCAPERS FOR AN ISSUE YOU HAD WITH ONE. THIS SERVICE HAS SAVED LIVES ON COUNTLESS OCCASIONS AND IS RECOMENDE BY EVERY EMERGENCY SERVICE PERSON WE HAVE EVER MET. NO PHONE NUMBER IS A BAD IDEA FOR THE FLYER. WE ALWAYS INCLUDE PHONE AND ON RECEIPT OUR EMAIL ADDRESS TOO. TO AVOID STALKER TYPES FOR SOME OF THE YOUNG GIRLS WHO WORK WITH US WE DON’T INCLUDE ADDRESS UP FRONT BUT DO AT REQUEST OF INDVIDUAL CUSTOMERS. SAVING TIME SAVES LIVES!!!!!!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    GPS is so common these days. The curb number painting is not really necessary. Most of police, emergency vehicles, UPS, taxi drivers have GPS. Once I returned from airport, the taxi driver didn't say one word after he had my address. He got a tomtom GPS near windshield. I don't like those curb number painting operators. They usually are not professional & their flyers read like from some bully. I assume most of them just like to make some quick bucks & they can disappear in no time when you try to locate them.

    • Billie Jean says:

      I work for UPS and have GPS but I still need to see the house number before I know I’m in the right place. I LOVE LOVE LOVE people who have their house numbers painted on their curbs!

    • Billie Jean says:

      Especially at night when a lot of us are still out delivering on busy days!

  5. Jim says:

    I would never believe in a flyer. I have done curb painting off and on for 20yrs, honestly! I go out and get a business license and get to work. My approach has always been to contact the homeowner in person and performing the work on the spot. I charge between $5-20.00, done right in front of the customer.. My curb #’s stay on for 10yrs. I travel extensively in many neighborhoods and many cities and states. Also I have no blemish on my criminal record and want to keep it that way. There have been a lot of scams that have hurt my honest part time work. I will persevere.

  6. Anonymous says:

    I came home the other day and found a notice taped to the brick on the front of our home. It was for curb painting, and said if we wanted it done to fill out our info and tape it back on the garage door. I threw it away. This morning I went out for the mail and there it was!!! Painted in huge bright white numbers on a black block…. AND IT WAS THE WRONG HOUSE NUMBER!! Not only did I not request the service, but now I have the wrong house number blaring you in the face at the end of my driveway. There was no name or number on the flier…???? Don’t know what to do now. I will call the city and see if they know, because they said the city had ok’d their service. Any ideas?

  7. Nathan Fiedler says:

    That’s awful. It sounds like a beginner was trying his/her luck at curb painting for the first time. What I would do is get a steel brush and see if I could scrap the paint off, if even just to make it illegible. I suspect there’s not much the city can/will do about this, though.

    • Bob says:

      Use some gasoline with that wire brush and it should come right up. Also home depot has some spray on paint remover. you spray it on let it sit for half an hour, and then spray it off with the hose.

      • Pete says:

        BAD ADVICE BOB
        Telling someone to use gasoline is the last thing anyone with any intelligent forethoughts would do. Bob, do you know what happens when you wire brush cement? It usually will throw sparks from the wires on the wire brush, just like a grinder does Bob, but just not nearly as many sparks. Think deep and hard now Bob. What happens when you have sparks with the gasoline you said to use on it? Sure, wire brush gasoline on cement, that is, if you want to start a fire and get burned. That’s about the worst advice I ever heard. I mean come on. Wire brush cement plus gasoline? 85% OR BETTER chance of that becoming an epic failure along with the same chances that someone will get hurt.

  8. John smith says:

    I am making good money painting address numbers on curbs. I guarantee my work for 3 years. I include the cities phone number and my phone number on all receipts. If you are stable and want your address visible, EVERY EMERGENCY personnel I have ever spoken to wants visible address numbers. .

  9. Jim Woods says:

    I was out of town when your flyer was posted at my house and only fournd it opon my return Sept. 21,2010. The last time you were in or neighborhood I used you service. Can you send someone to paint our curb.

    My address is 1948 Cambridge Dr. Vinton,VA 24179.

    Thanks for any help you can give.

    Jim Woods

  10. ron mexico says:

    VDOT owns the curb. It is a prosecutable offense. Call the Police

  11. Kat Pettycrew says:

    Thank you, everyone! I just got one of these fliers on my mailbox and it seemed like a nice idea. It did not ask for money in advance. I did write an initialed note on it, that I wanted a business address, telephone number, and tax number, and then I photographed the flier before taping it to my door. THEN I decided to look it up. So now I have taken the flier off my door and torn it up. I do think I will finally get my house number on my front door though, instead of just the mail box. The flier did mention some good points. (I’m not sure NJ would spend the money to get the emergency services GPSes!!!)

  12. J. Bog says:

    I did not ask to have my curb painted. I did not receive any notice prior to the work being done. This is BS. Don’t expect me to pay for something they decided to do. Some guy was banging on my door and ringing the doorbell this evening. I have a sick one at home and don’t appreciate the interruption. I told the guy I can’t pay and he said he would return later. No kidding he banged on the door and rang the doorbell less than a half hour later. I’m pissed and don’t want your Curb Numbering Service people bothering me again. I should call the cops on those crooks! The slip the guy gave me had the phone number 951-774-3139
    Why do they put “Please be polite. Inappropriate posts may be removed. ” on their site for comments? Must be getting what they deserve!

    • Pete says:

      Your home matches the rest of the community. Just because you did not ask for it to be done, does that justify you not having to pay for it? Yes. it does justify that. Just because you can justify not paying for a service that could potentially save lives of your loved ones does not make it ethically correct. Was the job done well? Let me ask a different question. Do you think that the man who extended himself in good faith by his paint material, along with the time and effort it took for him to do something to your home that is only for your benefit is something that you see as being worth absolutely nothing ? I will never understand why people throw things like this out into the universe and are then dumbfounded when bad things happen. There is only one crook the way I see it. Pay the man for his materials a few bucks if you are that cheap. It’s work done as good faith and there is no law against it

      • Russ says:

        It doesn’t matter if the job was done well or not!

        Maybe I have a friend who will do it for less.
        Maybe I want my son to do it myself.
        Maybe I don’t want it done because I like my curb the way it is.

        The point is, if I do not contract with someone to do work on my property, whether it is mowing my lawn, painting my curb, or feeding my dogs, I have no obligation to pay him, legally, morally, or otherwise. If he later knocks on my door saying I ‘owe’ him $15 or any other amount, he is the one being dishonest and unethical because I do not owe him that money, because I did not agree for him to perform that service. If I want Cable TV, I will pay for it. If I want my lawn mowed, I will pay for it. If I want a newspaper delivered, I will pay for it. If I do not want any of those things, and you give them to me, and then imply I owe you money or have any moral obligation to pay you, you are being dishonest.

  13. Valeria says:

    When you have a minor assert, establish whether it is worth every
    penny to submit along with your vehicle insurance organization.
    The dilemma which then rears its ugly head of course is that it is not
    within your capacity and control as to how long it will take for your previous insurance company to
    send out the precise documents in the correct form through to you – what is the position if
    and when they don’t comply on your behalf. Driving a motor vehicle without having any insurance in place is definitely a driving offence which is certainly one that you should try your very best not to be guilty of but yet is rather simple to be in default of.

  14. I’m not sure exactly why but this blog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later
    and see if the problem still exists.

Comments are closed.