Evolved to GTI

For the past year, I had been driving a 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution MR. In case you are not aware, this is a fast car. I believe it was one of the cars seen in the Fast and Furious movie(s), although I didn’t know it when I had bought it. I bought it because it is an awesome car. I learned this by playing Gran Turismo, which is very good at illustrating the differences between many types of cars. Anyway, for various reasons, I’ve traded in the car for a 2007 VW GTI. Not quite the same as an Evo, but close enough and much more well-rounded. The Evo is fast, but that’s all it is, just fast.

I’m really loving driving the GTI, it handles nicely and is easy to drive. And naturally it’s saving me a lot of money, since the car costs less, burns less fuel, and is less expensive to insure. This is my second hatchback, but my first “hot” hatch. My first car was a 1979 VW Dasher, which was a piece of crap, but for $900 it was a bargain. In fact, except for last year, I have been driving nothing but VW for 17 years. My next car, though, is still going to be a BWM, but only when I can reasonably afford it.

This entry was posted in Cars and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.