One month with the iPhone

It’s been over a month since I got my iPhone, and not a day has gone by where I didn’t appreciate it. Today was a great example of that. On my way home from work I encountered stopped traffic on the highway. It was noticable even before I reached the entrance ramp, so instead I turned around and took an alternate route. Thanks to the iPhone, I could pull up Google Maps and get a view of the area, with the traffic status showing as color coded lines over the major roadways. It clearly indicated that the traffic was barely moving for about two miles up the highway, then after that it was all green. So, I simply took surface streets for that distance and merged onto the highway. I almost certainly saved myself at least 15 minutes.

It’s one thing for the iPhone to be able to do that sort of thing, as I’m sure it’s not the only smart phone that can. But, the iPhone makes it so mind numbingly easy to do the things that other phones make ridiculously annoying. Even my daughter, who’s not quite two years old, has figured out how to flick through the photo album, and as she demonstrated today, scroll around the map in Google Maps. Granted, she doesn’t know it’s a map, but she’s mastered the basic interface for the iPhone. I predict that by age 4 she’ll know how to use every feature of the device, including setting it up to connect to an IMAP server to retrieve mail.

It’s been one month and I still love this phone. I surprised myself, in fact. I had assumed that by now I’d have found some major issue with it that would have me regretting its purchase. On the contrary, I’d gladly pay $500 for it again, without even thinking about it.

This entry was posted in Reviews, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.